Winners of the Baltic Assembly Prize in Science Eva-Clarita Pettai and Vello Pettai at the Institute

2015-10-22 Institute News

"Transitional and Retrospective: Comparing the Politics of Truth and Justice in the Baltic States”: a presentation by Eva-Clarita Pettai and Vello Pettai of their new book will be delivered at the IIRPS. “Transitional and Retrospective Justice in the Baltic states," their path breaking monograph, which is already published by Cambridge University Press, has won the Baltic Assembly prize* for science this year.  It develops an innovative analytical model for studying the politics of the past in post-communist countries.  It also uses this framework to survey all three Baltic states in terms of the public debates and government policies that have sought to deal with truth and justice issues in these countries. According to the authors, the way in which states have dealt with their Soviet past and established mechanisms of truth and justice after regaining independence tells us a lot about the strength and character of their democracies.

Time: 19th November, 5 pm.

Place: IIRPS, room 402.

The opening remarks will be delivered by Dr. Dalia Cidzikaitė, who is a senior researcher at the National Library of Lithuania and the Lithuanian-American Community representative in Lithuania. The event will be moderated by a professor of political science at Georgia Gwinnett College, USA and lecturer at the IIRPS, Dovilė Budrytė. 

*The Baltic Assembly Prize was established in 1993 with the aim to support outstanding achievements in literature, the arts and science and raise the level of literature, the arts and science in the Baltic States.

Share |